About Us

Our Mission: Educating to Save Lives

The Safety Village of South Dakota is a 501(c)(3) organization committed to reducing accidents involving children and adults by helping them understand and identify safety issues, and to make healthy injury prevention choices. We partner with community safety organizations to coordinate comprehensive safety programs. Our goal is to be a hands-on, injury prevention facility where children and adults learn life-saving safety skills.

Our History

The Safety Village of South Dakota began with a discussion 1,300 miles away on the east coast. That discussion at the National Fire Academy led to a visit to the Washington County Children’s Village in Hagerstown, Maryland. The safety center designed to teach injury prevention to children was so impressive, the idea was brought back to Sioux Falls. An organizational plan for our own Safety Village caught fire with numerous community leaders. A Board of Directors was formed in 1998 to oversee the non-profit organization. Since the creation of the Safety Village of South Dakota, numerous projects and programs have come to fruition. Safety Village of South Dakota educates the public about safety and injury prevention on topics ranging from fire, home and farm safety to poison prevention, bicycle and pedestrian safety, and impaired and distracted driving.

Board of Directors

  • Marsha Kucker – Board President
    Owner   – Capital Resource Consulting
    Education Specialist – Groundworks Midwest
  • Tim Neuroth – Vice President of Board
    Safety Specialist and Safety Trainer – CHS Eastern Farmers – CHS
  • Dr. Kevin Whittle – Board Secretary
    Medical Director – Avera Health Cliniic
    Clinical Professor, Internal Medicine  – Sanford School of Medicine
  • Michael Top
    Battalion Chief/Enforcement and Investigation – Sioux Falls Fire Rescue
  • Christine Bruxvoort
    Sioux Falls Police Department – Roosevelt High School
  • Doug Kruse
    Database Administrator – PREMIER Bankcard
  • Steve Munk
    Retired – SD Cooperative Extension Service
  • Darren Kuyper
    President – JamesDugan, Inc
  • Kathy Redinius
    Retired – First National Bank Sioux Falls


  • Tonya Ahrendt – Executive Director

Safety Village of South Dakota Current 990


Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now